Eco Battery Golf Cart Lithium Review: 250A BMS, Skinny Packs, CAN Bundles, and What the Warranty Really Says

CartVoltage is reader-supported. If you buy through links on this page we may earn a commission at no extra cost to you. As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases. Details

Eco Battery is the lithium pack ICON has fitted at the factory since 2021, the pack Evolution owners upgrade to when the stock battery disappoints, and the brand golf cart dealers recommend most often when a customer asks for “the good one.” It’s also roughly twice the price of an equivalent Amazon pack. This review explains what you’re paying for: a US company with a support line, a BMS rated 250A continuous in the Gen3 line, cart-specific bundles that include CAN adapters for factory-lithium carts, a “Skinny” form factor that lets two packs share one battery bay, heated versions for cold climates, and a warranty that’s long but whose exact terms have changed over the years. We haven’t tested the packs; specs come from Eco Battery’s site and authorised retailers, and owner experience from published reviews.

Short answer: Eco Battery is the premium pick when the cart needs it: a 250A continuous Gen3 BMS for lifted carts, hills and upgraded controllers; CAN bundles that keep the ICON and Evolution dash reading the pack; heated and Skinny versions; and a limited lifetime warranty with a US support line. For a stock EZGO, Club Car or Yamaha on easy ground, a 200A Amazon pack does the same daily job for about half the price. Sold through dealers and specialist retailers, not Amazon.

Verdict in Short

If your cart is an ICON or Evolution and you want the dash to keep working, or your cart is lifted, on big tires, running a performance controller or living on hills, Eco Battery’s 250A Gen3 pack is the safest premium choice on the market and the bundle removes every install headache. If your cart is a stock EZGO, Club Car or Yamaha doing neighbourhood miles, a 200A Amazon pack does the same job for half the money and Eco’s extra current headroom goes unused. Choose Eco for the situations that need it, not as a default.

What Eco Battery Actually Sells

VoltageCapacitiesForm factorsNotes
36V60 to 72Ah, 105AhStandardFor 1994 to 2009 EZGO TXT, pre-1995 Club Car DS, older Yamaha
48V (marketed as 51V)72Ah, 105Ah, 160AhStandard, Skinny (105Ah), heatedThe core range; ICON’s factory pack is the 51V 105Ah
70.4V (72V class)105AhStandardFor 72V Evolution, Kandi and performance builds (70.4V vs 76.8V explained)

Two form factors deserve explanation. The Skinny 48V 105Ah is a tall, narrow pack sized so that two fit side by side in a standard six-battery tray. One Skinny is a normal 105Ah conversion; two in parallel is 210Ah and double the BMS current, without a rear-mounted second tray. It’s the cleanest route to extreme range on a stock chassis, and retailers that stock several brands single it out for that (the wiring rules for any pair are in adding a second lithium battery in parallel). The heated versions include an internal warming element that lets the BMS accept charge below freezing, which a standard LiFePO4 pack refuses to do. If the cart lives in an unheated garage north of the frost line, that feature alone can justify the brand.

The Gen3 BMS: Why 250A Is the Number That Matters

Eco’s own language is “designed for high amperage golf cart applications,” and the Gen3 pack is rated 250A continuous where the Amazon standard is 200A and Allied’s 105Ah is 180A. Fifty amps sounds incremental; in practice it’s the margin between a lifted cart holding speed on a long grade and the BMS opening halfway up (what a BMS cutoff looks like). The engineering reason is duration. A 200A BMS with a 1000A burst covers a hard pull-away for three to five seconds. An ICON with a 450A controller, or an EZGO with a Navitas or Alltrax upgrade, can hold well over 200A for the full length of a climb, longer than any burst window. A 250A continuous rating moves the pack’s steady limit above what most upgraded carts ask for. The full case is in best lithium battery for hills and lifted carts.

The BMS also includes freeze-charge protection, which blocks charging below the cell safe temperature rather than letting a cold pack be damaged. That’s standard on good packs and worth confirming on cheap ones; Eco states it explicitly.

The Bundle and the CAN Question

Eco sells bare packs, but the products dealers and retailers push are cart-specific bundles: pack, charger with the cart’s plug, mounting brackets, cables, and where the cart needs it, communication hardware.

  • ICON bundles pair the pack with the cart’s factory CAN link so the digital cluster keeps reading state of charge. Because Eco is ICON’s OEM supplier, this is plug-compatible rather than an adapter workaround. Details in the ICON guide.
  • Evolution bundles include a CAN adapter and a wake-up kit for D5 and D6 carts, plus the “thru-hole” mounting hardware that uses the factory points. It’s the only aftermarket route that keeps the Evolution touchscreen’s battery data. Details in the Evolution guide.
  • EZGO, Club Car and Yamaha bundles are conventional: right plug on the charger, right brackets for the tray, no CAN needed. Which plug that is: golf cart charger plug types.
  • EZGO ELiTE bundles include a communication module for the Samsung-era controller; see our ELiTE replacement guide.

The charger in the bundle is a higher-amp unit than most kits ship. Eco advertises a 3.5-hour full charge for the 105Ah, which implies roughly 30A; Amazon kits at 18A take six hours for the same pack.

Warranty: Read the Version That Applies to Your Pack

Eco’s warranty has been marketed three ways over the years, and all three are still visible online: 8 years with proration after year 3 on older packs; 10 years on some retailer listings; and, on current Gen3 packs, a Limited Lifetime Warranty described by Eco’s largest online retailer as six years of full replacement followed by lifetime limited coverage. Any of those is longer than the five years most Amazon brands offer. Which one you get depends on the pack generation and purchase date, so read the warranty page at the time of purchase and register the pack. Owner reports on claims are positive, with the US-based support line mentioned as often as the warranty length. Note that the warranty requires a charge at least every six months in storage and excludes packs stored fully discharged; the winter storage guide has the routine.

Range, Honestly

Eco expresses range in holes of golf, which is more honest than a mileage claim: 36 to 45 holes for a 72Ah pack, about 54 holes plus the trip to the course for a 105Ah. At a typical five miles per 18 holes, that’s roughly 15 miles for 105Ah on a golf course, which matches what the physics says for a cart on grass with stops and starts. On flat pavement in a light cart the same pack does 25 or more. Evolution D5 owners who moved to the 160Ah report 55 to 80 miles in mixed use. Whatever the brand, run your own cart through the range calculator; a 250A BMS doesn’t add miles, it adds the ability to use them on hills.

Eco vs Allied vs Amazon Packs

Eco Battery 48V 105Ah Gen3Allied 48V 105Ah RSVatrer 48V 105AhCloudenergy 48V 105Ah
Continuous current250A180A200A250A
WarrantyLimited lifetime (6 yr full replacement); older packs 8 yr8 years5 years (check listing)Stated; check listing
Charger in bundleHigh-amp, ~3.5 h for 105AhWaterproof, OEM plug20A on kit listings20A
Factory-cart integrationICON (OEM) and Evolution CANICON kit with head unitNoneNone
Form factorsStandard, Skinny, heated, 36V, 72VStandard, 30Ah modulesStandard, 36V, 72VStandard, 36V
Certification notedNot statedNot statedUL 2271Not stated
Where soldDealers, specialist retailersDirect, dealersAmazon, brand siteAmazon, brand site
Approx. bundle price$1,800 to $2,500$1,700 to $2,200$900 to $1,600$900 to $1,300
PriceDealer quoteDealer quoteCheck on AmazonCheck on Amazon

The Amazon options: Vatrer 48V 105Ah (full review) and Cloudenergy 48V 105Ah; the full Amazon field is in Best 48V Lithium Golf Cart Battery. The Allied comparison in depth: Allied Lithium review.

Who Should Buy Eco Battery

  • ICON and Evolution owners who want the factory display to keep reading the pack.
  • Lifted carts, six-seaters, hilly properties, and any cart with a Navitas, Alltrax or similar controller upgrade: the 250A rating is the point.
  • Cold-climate owners who need to charge below freezing: the heated pack (why standard packs refuse to charge in the cold).
  • Owners who want 200Ah-class range without a second tray: two Skinny packs.
  • Anyone who values a US support line and the longest warranty in the category over the lowest price.

Who Should Look Elsewhere

  • Stock EZGO, Club Car or Yamaha on flat ground: a Vatrer or DC HOUSE kit at half the price delivers the same daily experience.
  • Buyers who want a UL 2271 listing: Eco doesn’t state one; Vatrer does.
  • Anyone who wants to order on Amazon with Prime returns: Eco is a dealer and specialist-retailer product.

Frequently Asked Questions

Is Eco Battery a good lithium golf cart battery?

Yes, and it’s the one to choose when the cart needs its strengths: 250A continuous, factory-cart CAN integration, heated and Skinny options, and a long warranty backed by a US company. For a stock cart on easy terrain, it’s more battery than you need.

What is the Eco Battery warranty?

Current Gen3 packs are sold with a Limited Lifetime Warranty, described by Eco’s main online retailer as six years of full replacement then limited coverage. Older packs carried 8 years with proration after year 3. Confirm the terms for your pack at purchase and register it.

Does Eco Battery make the ICON factory battery?

Yes. ICON’s factory 51V 105Ah lithium pack is an Eco Battery unit, which is why Eco’s ICON bundles integrate with the cart’s display without adapters.

How long does an Eco Battery take to charge?

Eco advertises about 3.5 hours from empty for the 105Ah with the bundled charger, which implies a roughly 30A unit. A 160Ah takes correspondingly longer, around 5.5 hours. The charge time calculator gives the figure for any charger and pack.

Eco Battery vs Allied: which should I buy?

Eco for hills, upgraded controllers, factory-lithium carts and cold climates. Allied for a stock cart where you want the dash LCD meter and OEM-plug charger in the box, or the 30Ah module format. Both are premium and both are a support upgrade over Amazon brands.

LOOKING FOR AN AMAZON ALTERNATIVE?
Cloudenergy matches Eco’s 250A rating for about half the price; Vatrer adds the UL 2271 listing Eco does not state.

Next Steps

Check current Eco Battery bundles at ecobattery.com or an authorised retailer, and confirm your cart’s plug and tray in the fitment guide. Not sure you need 250A? The all-voltage guide explains when 200A is enough.

Similar Posts

4 Comments

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *