Allied Lithium Golf Cart Battery Review: Two Systems, One Warranty, and Who It’s Actually For
CartVoltage is reader-supported. If you buy through links on this page we may earn a commission at no extra cost to you. As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases. Details
Allied Lithium is a US-based battery company that sells two very different golf cart systems under one name, and most reviews blur them together. One is a family of full-voltage single packs (the RS line, 48V from 65Ah to 210Ah). The other is a set of 48V 30Ah modules shaped like lead-acid batteries that you install two to six at a time in parallel. They have different specs, different installs, different reasons to buy, and the same 8-year warranty. This review separates them, reads the 105Ah datasheet the way a pack engineer would, and says who Allied is right for and who should look at Amazon packs or Eco Battery instead. We haven’t tested these packs; specs come from Allied’s datasheets and dealer listings, and owner experience from published reviews.
Verdict in Short
Allied is a premium, dealer-supported choice with an unusually complete bundle (charger with OEM plug, dash meter, brackets, cables, CAN harness) and a warranty that owners report is honoured quickly. Its 105Ah RS pack is rated 180A continuous, slightly below the 200A that Amazon packs now treat as standard, so it’s a stock-cart battery rather than a lifted-cart battery unless you go to parallel modules. You pay roughly double the price of an equivalent Amazon pack for the support, the bundle and the US company behind it. Whether that’s worth it depends on how much you value not having to source, adapt or troubleshoot anything yourself.
Two Systems, Not One
| RS full-voltage packs | Drop-in-Ready 30Ah modules | |
|---|---|---|
| What it is | One 48V pack: 65, 105, 160/168 or 210Ah | 48V 30Ah units the size of a lead-acid battery; run 2 to 6 in parallel (60 to 180Ah) |
| Install | Remove all lead-acid, fit one pack, bracket it, connect main leads | Swap lead-acid batteries one-for-one into the existing tray and hold-downs, cable in parallel |
| Best for | Most conversions; simplest wiring | Carts with awkward trays, or owners who want to add capacity later a module at a time |
| Continuous current | 105Ah: 180A | Scales with modules; each adds BMS capacity |
| Weight | 105Ah about 108 lb | Spread across modules |
| Warranty | 8 years | 8 years |
The modules are Allied’s original idea and the reason the brand exists. Retailers that stock several brands are cooler on them than Allied is: one specialist lists wiring six 30Ah modules in parallel as a thumbs-down configuration, on the grounds that it multiplies connections and points of failure compared with a single pack. Two or three modules for a stock cart is a reasonable use; six to reach 180Ah is where a single 160 or 210Ah RS pack makes more sense. The wiring and matching rules for any parallel set are in should you add a second lithium battery in parallel.
The 48V 105Ah RS Pack: Reading the Datasheet
| Spec | Allied 48V 105Ah RS | What it means for your cart |
|---|---|---|
| Nominal energy | 5.38 kWh (51.2V × 105Ah) | Same class as every 105Ah pack; ~4.8 kWh usable |
| Continuous discharge | 180A | Fine for a stock cart; below the 200A class norm, well below Eco’s 250A |
| Peak discharge | 350A (short duration) | Covers pull-away and short climbs on a stock controller |
| Instantaneous | 600A | Momentary; not a rating you drive on |
| Weight | About 108 lb | Removes 300 to 400 lb versus six to eight lead-acid batteries |
| Cells | Allied states EV-grade 105Ah cells, not repurposed 100Ah storage cells | A fair point; some budget packs use ESS cells. Unverifiable from outside |
| App | Bluetooth: SoC, cell voltages, cycle count | Standard now; Allied’s is mature |
| Storage mode | Button on the pack | Useful for seasonal owners; prevents parked-draw cutoff on RXV/ICON-type carts (winter storage routine) |
| CAN / RS485 harness | Included in bundles | Enables the dash meter and some factory-display integration (ICON kits) |
| Warranty | 8 years | Longer than Amazon brands’ 5; shorter than Eco’s lifetime on some packs |
From Allied datasheets and authorised-dealer listings as of September 2026. Allied’s other capacities have their own current limits; don’t assume the 105Ah figures apply to the 168 or 210Ah.
An engineer’s note on 180A
180A continuous is not a weakness for the cart Allied designed this pack around: a stock EZGO, Club Car or Yamaha with a 250 to 300A controller that spends most of its life under 100A. The 350A peak covers the moments that matter. Where it falls short is the same place a 200A pack does, only sooner: a lifted cart on 23-inch tires holding a long grade, or an AC-drive ICON or RXV with a 400 to 450A controller (what happens when the BMS reaches its limit). Allied’s own answer is parallel modules, which add BMS capacity with each unit; the market’s answer is a 250A single pack from Eco or Cloudenergy, compared in best lithium battery for hills and lifted carts. If your cart is in that group, that’s the comparison to make, not Allied 105Ah versus Vatrer 105Ah.
What’s in the Bundle
This is where Allied earns its price. A dealer bundle for a Club Car, EZGO, Yamaha or ICON typically includes:
- The pack, with mounting brackets and a hardware pack
- A waterproof lithium charger with the cart’s OEM plug (or an onboard plug option)
- A dash-mounted round LCD state-of-charge meter with its harness, plug and play (which matters, because the factory meter reads wrong on lithium)
- 4-gauge main cables
- CAN bus and RS485 harness
- The Bluetooth app
Compare that with a typical Amazon kit, which includes the charger and cables, sometimes a monitor, rarely brackets, never a cart-specific dash meter (the kit comparison lists exactly what each box holds). For a first-time converter who doesn’t want to source or adapt anything, the bundle removes every step that goes wrong.
What Owners Report
Reading across dealer review pages and independent reviews, the pattern is consistent.
- Warranty and support are the most-praised part: replacements shipped quickly, including for shipping-damaged units.
- Performance on stock carts gets the reviews you’d expect from any lithium swap: livelier, faster charging, no maintenance. Several RXV owners mention it working without fuss with the RXV’s regen braking, which Allied’s BMS is designed for.
- Range claims draw criticism. Allied markets 30 to 45 miles from the 105Ah. One Club Car owner reported using 35 to 40% of the pack in a single round and calculated closer to two rounds per charge. That’s consistent with our own arithmetic: 4.8 kWh usable at 250 Wh per mile is about 19 miles for a typical cart. Allied’s figure is a light cart on flat ground. Use the range calculator, not the brochure.
- Instructions are thin for some cart types. One owner with an off-board charger found no written guide or video for his configuration. Allied’s dealer network fills that gap; buying direct, you may be on your own, though the general sequence in how to convert a golf cart to lithium applies to any pack.
- Price is the recurring reservation, even from happy owners.
Allied vs the Alternatives
| Allied 48V 105Ah RS | Eco Battery 48V 105Ah | Vatrer 48V 105Ah | Cloudenergy 48V 105Ah | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Continuous | 180A | 250A (Gen3) | 200A | 250A |
| Warranty | 8 years | Lifetime limited on many packs | 5 years (check listing) | Stated; check listing |
| Certification noted | Not stated | Not stated | UL 2271 | Not stated |
| Bundle | Charger, dash meter, brackets, CAN harness | Charger, brackets; CAN adapters for ICON/Evolution | Charger optional; cart-specific kits | Charger, monitor, strap |
| Where sold | Allied direct, dealers | Dealers, specialist retailers | Amazon, brand site | Amazon, brand site |
| Approx. price band | $1,700 to $2,200 bundle | $1,800 to $2,500 bundle | $900 to $1,600 | $900 to $1,300 |
| Price | Dealer quote | Dealer quote | Check on Amazon | Check on Amazon |
| Choose it when | You want a full bundle and US support, stock cart | Factory-lithium cart, dash integration, hills | Value plus certification | Value plus 250A for hills |
For the Amazon options: Vatrer 48V 105Ah (full review) and Cloudenergy 48V 105Ah. All seven Amazon packs are compared in Best 48V Lithium Golf Cart Battery.
Who Should Buy Allied
- Owners of a stock EZGO, Club Car, Yamaha or ICON who want one box with everything, an OEM-plug charger, a proper dash meter, and a company to call.
- Seasonal owners who’ll use the storage-mode button and value an 8-year warranty from a US company.
- ICON owners who want dash integration: Allied’s ICON kit includes a replacement head unit that reads the pack, which is rare. See the ICON guide.
- EZGO ELiTE owners replacing a Samsung pack: Allied’s ELiTE kit includes the communication module the controller needs. See the ELiTE replacement guide.
- Carts with unusual trays where the 30Ah modules fit the existing hold-downs.
Who Should Look Elsewhere
- Lifted carts, six-seaters, AC-drive carts on hills: 180A continuous is the wrong spec. Eco Battery or Cloudenergy at 250A.
- Budget-first buyers on a stock cart: a Vatrer or DC HOUSE kit does the same job for half the money, minus the dash meter and the phone number.
- Anyone planning six modules in parallel: buy a single 160 or 210Ah RS pack instead, or another brand’s 150Ah.
Frequently Asked Questions
Is Allied a good lithium golf cart battery?
For a stock cart, yes: a complete bundle, mature app, 8-year warranty and support that owners rate highly. For lifted or high-draw carts its 180A continuous rating is a limitation; look at 250A packs.
How far does an Allied 105Ah go?
Allied says 30 to 45 miles. On a typical cart in mixed use, plan on 18 to 25; owners report about two rounds of golf per charge on hilly courses. Same physics as any 105Ah pack.
Where is Allied Lithium made?
Allied is a US company that designs and supports its packs domestically; like the entire industry, the LiFePO4 cells inside are sourced from Asian cell manufacturers. Allied’s claim is that it specifies EV-grade cells rather than storage-grade ones.
Is the Allied warranty really 8 years?
Yes, on registration, and owner reports on claims are consistently positive. Terms are prorated in later years; read the registration page.
Allied vs Eco Battery: which is better?
Eco Battery for hills, factory-lithium carts and the longer warranty; Allied for the dash meter, the OEM-plug charger in the box and the 30Ah module option. Both are premium; both are a step up in support from Amazon brands.
Next Steps
Check current Allied pricing on Allied’s site or an authorised dealer. Compare against the Amazon field in Best 48V Lithium Golf Cart Battery, and confirm your cart’s plug and tray in the fitment guide.
3 Comments